Autumn 1904 - Tales Of Innocence (Vinyl LP & DL)

Format: LP
Prix réduit£22.00


Released on Eco Mix Vinyl in February 2024.

Autumn 1904 is a post-punk indie-rock band formed in 1982 in Edinburgh, Scotland by Allan Dumbreck (keyboards) and Ross Thom (guitar). The band originally became a five-piece (Billy Bowie – bass, Keith Falconer – drums, Billy Leslie – vocals) but grew to a seven piece in early 1983 (taking on two female backing vocalists, Indira Sharma and Lisa Cameron). Autumn 1904 were part of the DIY indie-rock movement in Edinburgh in the early to mid 1980’s kicked off by The Shop Assistants, they worked alongside The Wild Indians, Finitribe (originally Gallery Macabre) and Goodbye Mr MacKenzie, often performing together or attending each other’s shows.

In February 1984 the band performed at the John Peel Roadshow at Edinburgh University and afterwards were invited to record a BBC Radio 1 session which was broadcast three times on the Peel show. They were immediately courted by 11 major record and publishing companies. In March 1984 their song “I heard Catherine Sing” featured on the Deadbeat magazine compilation album “Deadbeat 1”. Internal tensions and health issues over the summer of 1984 held up development and caused Sharma and Cameron to leave the band.

The band first split in January 1985 with Thom, Bowie and Falconer going on to form The Crows with former members of First Priority, including future Glasgow Cathouse / Garage promoter Donald McLeod MBE. Dumbreck and Leslie reformed the band and performed throughout 1985 sometimes including Shirley Manson, then working with Goodbye Mr MacKenzie and later with Garbage. This line-up lasted until November 1985 when the band split again. Dumbreck went on to work with Scottish groups The Big Dish, Horse and Thrum. Later working extensively in music education setting up the music department at UWS where Jim Prime (Deacon Blue) and Paul McGeechan (Love and Money) became lecturing staff.

The line-up at the time of the Peel session was Dumbreck, Thom, Bowie, Falconer, Leslie and backing vocalists Indira Sharma and Lisa Cameron.

In May 2021, the original five members agreed to re-master / re-record the original material from their studio recordings for release. Work began with producer Liam McCluskey (Gun, King King, Twin Atlantic). Approaching Ian Smith in 2022 at independent record label Last Night from Glasgow for advice, he offered to release the album on the label. The final masters include Tippi from label-mates The Hedrons on vocals and a number of fresh recordings of material written in 1982-83 but never previously recorded.

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Vos informations de paiement sont gérées de manière sécurisée. Nous ne stockons ni ne pouvons récupérer votre numéro de carte bancaire.

Estimer la livraison

You may also like

Recently viewed